Love My Mom (Three-word Story)

Carmen Rod at rehab

Knock, knock, knock.

“Are you home?”

No one answers.

“Open the door!”

No one answers.

Mom lives alone. She won’t answer.

Get extra key. Open the door. She’s on bed. She can’t talk. She can’t move. I can’t panic. Have to act. Hospital is close. Carry mom downstairs. Drive her there. Faster than 9-1-1. At ER now.

“Help Mom, please! She needs help!”

“She can’t talk. She can’t walk. Help her now. She needs help!”

Nurses take her. I am waiting.

“She had stroke.” Doctor tells me. “How long ago?” he asks me.

“I don’t know.” I tell him. “Found her now.”

“Can’t give medicine. Too much time. Won’t help now.” He tells me. “Was devastating stroke. Maybe never independent.”

no, No, NO!

ICU one week. Telemetry the next. Rehab week 3.

She’s better now. She can walk. She can talk.

Needs 24/7 care.

“You keep her.” They tell me.

How can I? I have family. I work full-time. Who will help?

Have no choice. She’s my mom. I love her. Want to help. Don’t know how.

“It will work. We can help.” My wife says.

“How, how, how?” I ask her.

“I don’t know. We will help. It will work. What families do.” She tells me.

I hope so.

I love Mom.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

